Chris Martin, Ted Mathys, Hieu Minh Nguyen, and Patricia Smith among 37 recipients for NEA fellowships

Posted by Coffee House Press on

Today, the National Endowment for the Arts announced that Chris Martin, Ted Mathys, Hieu Minh Nguyen, and Patricia Smith are four of 37 writers to receive an FY 2017 individual creative writing fellowships of $25,000.

“The NEA has an excellent record of supporting writers who have gone on to have impressive literary careers,” said NEA Director of Literature Amy Stolls. “With their talent and diverse backgrounds, this year’s Creative Writing Fellows will add to our country’s rich literary history.”

The fellows were selected from more than 1,800 eligible applicants. Through its creative writing fellowships program, the National Endowment for the Arts gives writers the time and space to create, revise, conduct research, and connect with readers. Applications are reviewed through an anonymous process on their artistic excellence. Fellowships alternate between poetry and prose each year and in FY 2017 fellowships are in poetry. The full list of FY 2017 Creative Writing Fellows is available here.

Many American recipients of the National Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry and Fiction were recipients of NEA creative writing fellowships early in their careers. For more information on NEA Creative Writing Fellowships, visit the NEA’s Writers' Corner.

← Older Post Newer Post →